Siem Reap part 2


Sawasdee Krab,

Siem Reap Province


Capital Siem Reapph8

• Total 10,299 km2 (3,976 sq mi)
Population (2008)
• Total 896,309
• Density 87/km2 (230/sq mi)
Time zone
Dialing code +855
ISO 3166 code
Communes 100
Villages 907

Siem Reap is a province of Cambodia. It borders the provinces of Oddar Meanchey to the north, Preah Vihear and Kampong Thom to the east, Battambang to the south, and Banteay Meanchey to the west. Its capital and largest city is Siem Reap.
ph2Siem Reap is the 10th largest province in Cambodia. With a population of 896,309, it ranks as the 6th largest in the nation. A large portion of Siem Reap’s southern border is demarcated by the Tonle Sap and as such, it is one of the nine provinces that making up the Tonle Sap Biosphere Reserve. In modern times the province is best known as the site of Angkor and the Angkor Wat temple ruins.


The name “Siem Reap” literally means ‘Flat Defeat of Siam’, a reminder of the centuries old conflict between the Siamese and the Khmer. In Thailand, the province and its capital are called “Siemmarat”, literally meaning “Siam’s Territory”.


The province came under the control of the Thai kingdom of Siam in 1795 and was later returned to Cambodia in 1907 after French made a treaty with Siam for exchange of Trat and Dan Sai for the Siamese province of Inner Cambodia which included Phra Tabong (Battambang),Siemmarat (Siem Reap), and Nakhon Wat (Angkor Wat). The Inner ph10Cambodia province was split into Battambang and Siem Reap by the royal decree of King Sisowath the same year. This area became part of a disputed territory between France and Siam (now Thailand) which led to the Franco-Thai War in 1941, resulting in victory for Thailand and a return to Thai control (with exception of Siem Reap and Angkor Wat). The province again reverted to Cambodia in 1946, after the end of World War II with French and UN international pressure.

The province is subdivided into 12 districts, 100 communes and 907 villages.

1701 Angkor Chum
1702 Angkor Thom
1703 Banteay Srei
1704 Chi Kraeng
1706 Kralanh
1707 Puok
1709 Prasat Bakong
1710 Siem Reap
1711 Sout Nikom
1712 Srei Snam
1713 Svay Leu
1714 Varin

That’s all for now, until next time,Tuk-Tuk

Choak Dee Krab

Laew Phop Kan Mai Na Krab


Did you find this post, Helpful, Informative,
Guiding or you just liked it

...........Then why not, Shout me a beer Chang


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *